100-Foot Asteroid Buzzing Earth Today

| March 5, 2014 |

asteroid

A newfound asteroid will buzz close by Earth today (March 4), flying safely between our planet and the orbit of the moon, and you can follow the space rock encounter live online.

The asteroid 2014 DX110 will zip by Earth at 4 p.m. EST (2100 GMT) today, just days after its discovery on Feb. 28. NASA officials say it poses no threat to the Earth.

“This asteroid, 2014 DX110, is estimated to be about 100 feet (30 meters) across,” officials at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in California wrote in an alert. “Its closest approach to Earth will be at about 217,000 miles (about 350,000 kilometers) from Earth at about 1 p.m. PST (4 p.m. EST) [2100 GMT] on March 5. The average distance between Earth and its moon is about 239,000 miles (385,000 kilometers).”

NASA detects, tracks and characterizes asteroids and comets using both ground- and space-based telescopes,” JPL officials said in a statement. “The Near-Earth Object Observations Program, commonly called ‘Spaceguard,’ discovers these objects, characterizes a subset of them and identifies their close approaches to determine if any could be potentially hazardous to our planet.”

Click here for a live video feed

Email Tariq Malik at tmalik@space.com or follow him @tariqjmalik and Google+. Follow us @Spacedotcom, Facebook and Google+. Original article on Space.com.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or share with friends.

Related posts:

Category: Uncategorized

About the Author ()

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Vishal says:

    Wow, that’s spectacular man. Good to know that it’s no danger to Earth. Anyways, thanks for sharing the video link man.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *